[Skip to Content]

ICB Announces Winners of 2015 Software of the Year Competition

The Inventions and Contributions Board is happy to announce the winners of the 2015 Software of the Year competition, which was sponsored by the Offices of the Chief Engineer, Safety and Mission Assurance, and the Chief Information Officer. A special Software Panel with representatives from across the Agency met on July 22, 2015 and July 23, 2015 and reviewed the nominations from each center. Each technology nominated represents the best software from their respective centers for this award. The nominated inventions with the innovators and development team members are listed at: http://icb.nasa.gov/featurestory/soy-2015-nominees

The Inventions and Contributions Board ranked all the nominated entries with the following results:

This year there were two co-winners:
Ames Research Center's invention, NEQAIR v14.x, Nonequilibrium Radiative Transport and Spectra Program (ARC-15262-1B), and Johnson Space Center's invention, Orion Guidance, Navigation, and Control Flight Software (MSC-25615-1).

Additionally, Jet Propulsion Laboratory's invention, Data Optimization via Genetic Ordering (DOGO) System (NPO-49817-1) and Langley Research Center's, Airborne Doppler Wind Lidar Post Data Processing Software DAPS-LV (LAR-18270-1) were selected as Runners-Up. See JPL and LaRC lislt of Innovators and Team members at: http://icb.nasa.gov/featurestory/soy-2015-nominees

Finally, the following inventions were selected for Honorable Mention:

  • AFRC: NASA SOFIA Enterprise Middleware Solution DRC-010-040
  • GRC: Toolbox for the Modeling and Analysis of Thermodynamic Systems (T-MATS) LEW-19165-1
  • GSFC: General Mission Analysis Tool (GMAT) GSC-17177-1
  • MSFC: Project Cost Estimating Capability (PCEC) MFS-33187-1
  • SSC: NASA Data Acquisition System (NDAS) v 1.0 and v 2.0 SSC-CC-004

The final decisions were difficult to reach as the nominations were all outstanding. The individual innovators for the two Software of the Year winners are listed below. The list of the all the teams is at: http://icb.nasa.gov/featurestory/soy-2015-nominees

Congratulations to all.


**Ames Research Center (ARC)

NEQAIR v14.x, Nonequilibrium Radiative Transport and Spectra Program

Development Team Members
Aaron Brandis
Brett A. Cruden
Grant E. Palmer
David A. Saunders
Chul Park

**Johnson Space Center (JSC)

Orion Guidance, Navigation, and Control Flight Software

Development Team Members:
Timothy M. Straube
Ryan W. Proud
Joel R. Henry
Mark Jackson
Ben Meier
Scott Jenkins
David Oelschlaeger
Jake Horky
Richard Burt
Chris Madsen
David Weiler
Jeff Patterson
Ellis King
Kathryn Sullivan
Kevin Morrill
Mary Fleet
Steven Rehfeldt
Scott Tamblyn
Robert Gay
Harvey Mamich
Roger Wacker
Nicole Demandante
Greg Loe
Andrew Barth
Mark Kane
David M. Shoemaker
Brian Bihari
Charity Duke
Jastesh Sud
Denise L. Brown
Kevin Key
Renato Zanetti
Jason Roon
Doug Reid
James Young
Mike Buttacoli
Riana Pecourt
Marina Moen
Brian Hoelscher
Aaron J. Brown
Jeremy R. Rea
Michael Tigges
Luke McNamara
Daniel A. Matz
Jared Daum
Kelly M. Smith
Susan Stachowiak
Debbie S. Merritt
Mark A. McPherson
Greg N. Holt
David W. Saley
Karen D. Frank
Carl Soderland
Jason Arnold
Tim Crain
Chris D'Souza
Robert P. Chambers

NEQAIR Software of the Year Recipients NEQAIR team from Ames Research Center

Orion Flight Software -- Software of the Year Recipients Orion Guidance, Navigation, and Control Flight Software team from Johnson Space Center